Free Consultation. No Fees Unless You Collect
(844) 678-1800

Why Your Auto Insurance Claim May be Denied After a Crash


Posted On behalf of Pfeifer Morgan & Stesiak on Sep 21, 2020 in Car Accidents

woman at home reading document at tableYou may think there is no good reason for your car crash insurance claim to be denied. However, insurance companies routinely deny claims that most would think would be approved with no issues.

The fact of the matter is insurance companies are looking for ways to make and save money. One of their commonly used strategies is denying or devaluing claims. If they were to pay out fair compensation for every claim, they would probably go out of business.

Below, learn more about common reasons given for denying claims and how you may be able to protect your claim. The South Bend car accident lawyers at Pfeifer, Morgan & Stesiak can review your claim at no cost to determine if you may be eligible for compensation.

Our dedicated attorneys have a proven history of obtaining compensation from insurance companies. If your claim was denied, our attorneys may be able to help you file an appeal.

Reasons Why Car Crash Claims May be Denied

There are legitimate reasons for a claim to be denied. However, in your case, the insurance company’s reasoning may not be valid. That is why it is so important to talk to a licensed lawyer who can help determine if you may have a valid case.  

Some common reasons insurance companies give for denying claims include:

You Have a Preexisting Injury

You can still seek compensation if you have a preexisting injury. Compensation would be for aggravation of the existing illness or new injuries caused by the accident. However, you and your attorney must prove aggravation of the existing injury or the existence of new injuries. That is why it is important to go over this issue with your attorney as soon as possible. He or she can help you collect the medical documentation you will need for your claim.  

The Crash Was Your Fault

Under Indiana’s comparative fault law, you are eligible for compensation as long as you are less than 51 percent responsible for causing the accident. If you are less than 51 percent at fault, your compensation award will be reduced based on your percentage of fault.

It is important not to admit fault to the insurance company, even if you have good reason to think you are at fault. The insurance company will make its own determination regardless what you say. You do not want to give them statements they can use against you. Your attorney can determine if you may bear fault for the accident and how much. We do not want you to be assigned more fault than you deserve.

Your Injuries are not as Severe as Your Claim

Be careful what you say to insurance adjusters because they will try to use your words against your claim. If you tell them that you are feeling “okay”, they may say your injuries are not that severe. If you need to speak to the insurance company, only provide basic information such as when and where the accident occurred. You can let your attorney handle all communication going forward, as he or she can work to try to preserve the value of your claim.

You Filed Your Claim Too Late

According to Indiana law, personal injury victims must file their claims within two years from the date of the accident. This applies to drivers, passengers, bicyclists and pedestrians. However, there may be certain situations where this period could be sooner or later, depending on the details. If you are unsure whether the deadline has passed for your claim, contact our firm for more help.

Seek Legal Advice from a Licensed Lawyer

Car accident injuries can be life-changing, as victims may suffer physically, mentally, emotionally and financially. Discussing your claim with a licensed lawyer can be an important step during this difficult time.

Schedule a Free Case Review with a lawyer from Pfeifer, Morgan & Stesiak today. We charge you no upfront costs and there is no obligation to hire us. We only receive payment if we win compensation through a settlement or courtroom verdict.

Call (844) 678-1800 to learn your legal options. No fees unless you collect.